St. Wenceslaus Preservation Society of Gills Pier, Michigan (est'd 2026) |
||||||
| Our Story |
Our Mission |
Mailing List |
Projects |
Donate Now |
Our
Board |
Contact Us |
| Our Story | ||||||
|
Listen
to an overview of our history HERE
St. Wenceslaus church began as a mission church in 1890. The original wooden structure was built primarily by Bohemian settlers (for whom it was named) in the small predominantly agricultural village of Gills Pier, Michigan. The adjoining cemetery was established in 1900. It contains a rich heritage of gravesites strongly representative of the area's Bohemian heritage as well as the graves of an Austrian Archduke and his wife. Construction of the present brick church began in February, 1914 and was essentially completed by the end of that year. It was first blessed on August 1, 1915. The church has accommodated an active, vibrant, and culturally significant congregation since its founding up until June 1st, 2026, when Bishop Jeffrey Walsh unexpectedly issued decrees to merge the church with St. Mary Parish of Lake Leelanau, and also to change its status to a "limited use" church. This came as a shock to the congregation given that St. Wenceslaus Parish had never experienced any financial problems since its inception, was in excellent physical condition, and continued to serve a stable body of parishioner families as well as providing extensive outreach to our local and numerous other communities (see: https://www.stwenceslausgp.org for further details). Both decrees were formally appealed, which currently is our status (after 22 days within the 30-day response window of the Bishop). |
||||||
| Return To Home
Page |
||||||
| St Wenceslaus Preservation Society 2220 N Jacobson Rd Suttons Bay, MI 49682 email us: contact@savestwen.org |